CALS Staff Early Achievement in Research Award

Award Requirements

Application Deadline:
Due 3rd Tuesday in November to CALS

Purpose: To recognize a College of Agriculture and Life Sciences staff member who has demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in research and/or creative activity unusually early in their professional career.

Eligibility: Professional and scientific or merit staff who have been conducting research as a CALS employee for a minimum of three years at the time of the nomination deadline. Recipient must be a CALS employee at the time of the CALS Spring Awards Ceremony.

Number of Awards: One award.

Amount of Award: $500 one-time stipend.

Submission Guidelines:

  1. Submit the CALS award cover sheet.
  2. Submit a nominating letter no more than three pages describing the nominees contributions to research from the start of their position, including evidence of independence from those attributable to a mentor or supervisor. Address the nominee's contributions to research publications, reports and/or patents, funding (sources and amounts) and dissemination or presentation of research outcomes. Include evidence of the nominee's impact on undergraduate students, graduate students and postdoctoral associates. Describe the nominee's potential for future research success.  
  3. Submit no more than three letters from experts in the nominee's field at ISU or other institutions who are knowledgeable about the nominee's work. Provide a short paragraph summarizing the qualifications of external references.
  4. Submit the nominee's abbreviated curriculum vita, not to exceed four pages, which highlights research contributions.

NOTE: Prior to 2024, there was one CALS P&S Research Award, rather than a CALS Staff Early Achievement in Research Award and a CALS Staff Outstanding Achievement in Research Award. 

Ready to Submit a Nomination?

Past Recipients

  • 2023 - Mary Sue Mayes - Animal Science
  • 2022 - Yuba Kandel
  • 2018 - Hui Wang
  • 2017 - Jean Batzer
  • 2016 - Thomas Maier
  • 2013 - Amani Elobeid
  • 2012 - Jacinto Fabiosa
  • 2011 - Lingshuang Cai
  • 2010 - Philip Gassman
  • 2010 - Zhilland Hu
  • 2009 - Michael Kaiser