CALS Faculty Early Achievement in Teaching Award

Award Requirements

Application Deadline:
Due 3rd Tuesday in November to CALS

Purpose: To recognize a College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding teaching performance unusually early in their professional career.

Eligibility: Tenured, tenure-eligible or term faculty who have a minimum of two years and maximum of six years teaching experience following their terminal degree (Ph.D., etc.) and have completed a minimum of two academic years of appointment as a CALS faculty member at the time of the nomination deadline. Recipients must be CALS employees at the time of the CALS Spring Awards Ceremony.

Number of Awards: Two - one award for tenured or tenure-eligible faculty and one award for term faculty.

Amount of Award: $500 one-time stipend.

Submission Guidelines:

  1. Submit the CALS award cover sheet. 
  2. Submit a nominating letter no longer than three pages that describes the range of teaching responsibilities which have been performed, aspects of the teaching performance which distinguish the nominee, and specific evidence of meritorious performance. 
  3. Submit a student evaluation data table for all courses which includes course number, semester taught, enrollment, response rate, climate results for course and instructor, college and/or department norms for similar level courses, and clear explanation of the rating scale being used. 
  4. Submit a statement no longer than two pages prepared by the nominee that defines their teaching philosophy and efforts to enhance their teaching skills, strategies and impacts.
  5. Submit no more than three letters from current and former students and colleagues, including a summary of the names and positions of the letter writers and an indication of their relevance to the nomination. Comments from colleagues should reflect team teaching experiences, observations or other first hand knowledge of the teaching performance. 
  6. Submit an abbreviated curriculum vita not to exceed four pages which highlights teaching contributions. 

Ready to Submit a Nomination?

Past Recipients

  • 2024 - Guilherme DePaula (T/TE) - Economics
  • 2024 - Saxon Ryan (Term) - Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • 2023 - Ranga Appuhamy - Animal Science
  • 2022 - Emily Zimmerman - Natural Resource Ecology and Management
  • 2021 - Marshall McDaniel - Agronomy
  • 2020 - Marna Yandeau-Nelson - Genetics, Development and Cell Biology
  • 2019 - Scott Smalley - Agricultural Education and Studies
  • 2018 - Andrew VanLoocke
  • 2017 - Chris Currey
  • 2016 - Thomas Paulsen
  • 2015 - Cheryl Morris
  • 2014 - Stephanie Hansen - Animal Science
  • 2012 - Matthew Darr - Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • 2011 - Michael Retallick - Agricultural Education and Studies
  • 2010 - Jeanne Serb
  • 2009 - Levon Esters
  • 2008 - Lyric Bartholomay
  • 2007 - Lisa Schulte Moore - Natural Resource Ecology and Management
  • 2006 - Amy Kaleita-Forbes
  • 2003 - Nancy Grudens-Schuck
  • 2002 - Cary Trexler
  • 2001 - Steven Lonergan - Animal Science
  • 2000 - Donald Lay
  • 1999 - Lee Burras - Agronomy