CALS Faculty Distance Education Teaching Award

Award Requirements

Application Deadline:
Due 3rd Tuesday in November to CALS

Purpose: To recognize a College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding distance education teaching performance in their professional careers.

Eligibility: Tenured, tenure-eligible or term faculty with a minimum of two years at the time of the nomination deadline of teaching CALS distance education courses. Recipient must be a CALS employee at the time of the CALS Spring Awards Ceremony.

Number of Awards: One award.

Amount of the Award: $500 one-time stipend.

Submission Guidelines:

  1. Submit the CALS award cover sheet. 
  2. Submit a nominating letter no longer than three pages that describes the range of distance education teaching responsibilities which have been performed, aspects of the teaching performance which distinguish the nominee, innovative or unique approaches, and specific evidence of meritorious performance. 
  3. Submit a student evaluation data table for all courses which includes course number, semester taught, enrollment, response rate, climate results for course and instructor, college and/or department norms for similar level courses, and clear explanation of the rating scale being used. 
  4. Submit a statement no longer than two pages prepared by the nominee that defines their teaching philosophy and efforts to enhance their teaching skills, strategies and impacts.
  5. Submit no more than three letters from current and former students and colleagues, including a summary of the names and positions of the letter writers and an indication of their relevance to the nomination. Comments from colleagues should reflect team teaching experiences, observations or other first hand knowledge of the teaching performance. 
  6. Submit an abbreviated curriculum vita not to exceed four pages which highlights teaching contributions. 

Ready to Submit a Nomination?

Past Recipients

  • 2024 - Thomas Brumm - Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • 2023 - Anthony Mahama - Agronomy
  • 2022 - Scott Smalley - Agricultural Education and Studies
  • 2021 - James Wright - Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering
  • 2020 - Nancy Boury - Plant Pathology and Microbiology
  • 2019 - Nancy Grudens-Schuck
  • 2018 - Kenneth Moore
  • 2017 - Clark Ford - Food Science and Human Nutrition
  • 2016 - Jack Girton - Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
  • 2015 - Thomas Loynachan - Agronomy
  • 2014 - Dan Dobill
  • 2013 - Gary Munkvold - Plant Pathology and Microbiology
  • 2012 - John Pleasants
  • 2010 - Allan Ciha
  • 2009 - Allen Knapp